blog archive

Blog Archive » 2009 » October - December

Christmas Beading- Or Not

posted on Sunday, 27 December 2009

I'm away from home at the moment so don't have all my stash and supplies with me.

read more »

Bangles All In A Row

posted on Monday, 21 December 2009

Phew- my third bangle is all done.

read more »

Beads And Bags

posted on Saturday, 19 December 2009

A busy day today which starts with a trip to the shops to buy some gloves ready for embellishing and then off to bead group to work on my new bangle.

read more »

Paper Beads And Leather Gloves

posted on Friday, 18 December 2009

For each issue of Bead magazine (my main job is editing it) we film 2-3 projects and techniques which readers can watch for free on Bead-TV.

read more »

Bangles, Bangles, Bangles

posted on Thursday, 17 December 2009

A visit to Arundel today to the Bead offices to take the project and step photos for our next issue.

read more »

Beading Panic

posted on Monday, 14 December 2009

With Bead going to 8 issues from now on it's panic stations all round as I get used to the new time-table. Instead of my usual 8 weeks between each issue, 6 of them will be just 5 weeks apart.

read more »

Christmas Spirit

posted on Friday, 11 December 2009

After the rubber-stamp making class I recently took and all my purchases in the US, I felt that making my own cards this year would at least cancel out some of the guilt I feel over spending so much!

read more »

Foundry Visit

posted on Tuesday, 08 December 2009

A busy day today which includes a trip to the foundry of the Royal College of Art organised by The British Art Medal Society.

read more »

Home And Beading

posted on Tuesday, 01 December 2009

Back home safe and sound and of course I'm straight back to beading (and trying not to panic about the 1,300+ emails that came whilst I was away...)

read more »

New York- Day 13

posted on Sunday, 29 November 2009

My last full day in New York and you can guess how I spend it!

read more »

New York- Day 12

posted on Saturday, 28 November 2009

Another day in New York- another day shopping.

read more »

New York- Day 11

posted on Friday, 27 November 2009

Another day to explore New York and I find myself wandering all over Manhattan.

read more »

New York- Day 10- Thanks Giving

posted on Thursday, 26 November 2009

Happy Thanks Giving and much hospitality was shown to me with 2 invitations to visit people's homes.

read more »

New York- Day 9

posted on Wednesday, 25 November 2009

Today begins with a visit to see Grand Central Terminal and take part in one of the guided tours.

read more »

New York- Day 8

posted on Tuesday, 24 November 2009

Well, I haven't done it for a few days, so today seems the perfect day for bead shopping!

read more »

New York- Day 7

posted on Monday, 23 November 2009

A busy day today being touristy.

read more »

New York- Day 6

posted on Sunday, 22 November 2009

Today was my second day of teaching for the New York Bead Society and we were working on my peyote beaded beads (the pattern for which will appear soon).

read more »

New York- Day 5

posted on Saturday, 21 November 2009

Today was my first day of teaching for the New York Bead Society.

read more »

New York- Day 4

posted on Friday, 20 November 2009

A day off and just my luck I'm not feeling well.

read more »

New York- Day 3

posted on Thursday, 19 November 2009

My first day of work and after yesterday's dry run I manage to find my way to Beads By Blanche nice and easily.

read more »

New York- Day 2

posted on Wednesday, 18 November 2009

Once again I'm lucky to spend most of the day with the lovely Suzanne Golden and we start by exchanging gifts and chatting about beadwork- always a good way to spend time.

read more »

New York- Day 1

posted on Tuesday, 17 November 2009

My first day in New York City and it starts in the best way possible- I finally get to meet Suzanne Golden!

read more »

One Red Done

posted on Monday, 16 November 2009

I have now finished one of my red projects for Bead magazine's colour special. I can't finish the next one until I get hold of a nice, strong magnetic clasp.

read more »

Snowman Party

posted on Friday, 13 November 2009

As much as I love working on Bead, when I visit the office and see such delights as this (which lights up) I do wish I worked on Dolls House World!

read more »

More Courses

posted on Thursday, 12 November 2009

Another busy day with 7 hours of work at the computer then 5 hours of learning- a lot for my poor brain!

read more »

Red Rope Grows

posted on Wednesday, 11 November 2009

I'm still working away on my red rope whenever I get a chance- which isn't much this week with all the classes I'm doing!

read more »

Red And Green Should Not Be Seen PT 2

posted on Tuesday, 10 November 2009

Still working away with red for my Colour Challenge and my latest piece is this red and green beaded bead.

read more »

Making Fun

posted on Monday, 09 November 2009

Had another great evening at The Make Lounge tonight.

read more »

Yet More Red

posted on Sunday, 08 November 2009

I'm still working on my series of herringbone ropes for the red months in my Colour Challenge and have almost completed the red+ mixed colours version. It just needs its hidden clasp added.

read more »

Still In The Red

posted on Tuesday, 03 November 2009

After a busy halloween I'm back to beading and still working away on my latest herringbone rope.

read more »

No Rest For The Wicked

posted on Tuesday, 27 October 2009

I'm on a roll now- after months of not feeling very creative, my Colour Challenge has had the desired effect and I'm itching to create at any opportunity!

read more »

Geometric 3-1-1

posted on Monday, 26 October 2009

I have just finished the latest piece in my Geometric Beadwork series.

read more »

Colourful Temari

posted on Saturday, 24 October 2009

So, do you like the new site?

read more »

Inspirational Purchases

posted on Thursday, 22 October 2009

Despite all the problems with post we're having in the UK at the moment 2 really exciting deliveries popped through my door this week.

read more »

Colourful Words

posted on Monday, 19 October 2009

- Testudinarious - Divisia - Coloury - Flemingin - Porret - Glenting

read more »

Red And Green Should Not Be Seen

posted on Sunday, 18 October 2009

Still on red for my Colour Challenge and at the moment using that classic complementary scheme- red and green.

read more »

The Show!

posted on Saturday, 17 October 2009

The day of the 3rd Big Bead Show is finally here and after an early start (leaving the house at 5.45 with an added panic when I thought transport might let me down) it was a fantastic day- of course!

read more »

Getting Ready For The Show- Part 3

posted on Friday, 16 October 2009

Phew- only 24 hours to go now and I'm at Sandown Park Racecourse- home of The Big Bead Show for the 3rd year running and once again we're taking over the large hall.

read more »

Getting Ready For The Show- Part 2

posted on Thursday, 15 October 2009

It's just 2 days until the Big Bead Show now and we're all getting even more excited.

read more »

Getting Ready For The Show- Part 1

posted on Wednesday, 14 October 2009

I'm down in Arundel today to work in the office and the atmosphere is a complete mix of excitement and anxiety!

read more »

New Project And Class

posted on Sunday, 11 October 2009

Years ago, when I first began working on my Geometric Beadwork Series, the first pieces I developed were beaded beads.

read more »

Sideways Art

posted on Friday, 09 October 2009

I'm a big fan of the work of Jeff Koons and having seen some of his work earlier this year I was hoping one of his big pieces would make it over to London at some point.

read more »

Disappointing Day

posted on Thursday, 08 October 2009

Well, I went to spend and came home almost empty handed. I alway love going to the Knitting & Stitching Show and usually come home with lots of treats and inspired.

read more »

De-stash And Logging Those Hours

posted on Tuesday, 06 October 2009

It's the Knitting & Stitching Show this week and once again it's hit me that I'm planning to go and shop but haven't really used anything I bought there last year (or the year before, or the one...

read more »

Reverse Chilli Bead

posted on Friday, 02 October 2009

I have now beaded a new version of my Chilli Beaded Bead- but this time swapped around the orange and purple beads and used purple crystals instead of orange

read more »

Chilli Bead

posted on Thursday, 01 October 2009

Another new beaded bead (if you're in or near New York the class on making these is the only one with spaces left).

read more »